Skip to main content


Back to news main

Healthcare Heroes Awards

Hospital news | Wednesday, April 24, 2019

Unity Health recently won two Arkansas Business Health Care Heroes awards on Wednesday, April 24, 2019.

Unity Health – Harris Medical Center won Small Hospital of the Year and Dr. Karen Jones, OB/GYN at Unity Health – Harris Medical Center won Women's Health & Wellness Hero. Judy Glenn, Healthworks RN was one of the finalists for Workplace Wellness Hero.

Unity Health – Harris Medical Center has been operating for 71 years and provides acute inpatient care, emergency care, family medicine, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, orthopaedics, podiatry, psychiatric care and surgical services to Jackson County and surrounding communities. Unity Health – Harris Medical Center have many providers who are Jackson County natives who take care of their neighbors every day. Providers are involved with local group and the hospital partners with local schools to promote health and wellness.

"This honor solidifies the important role Unity health plays in the healthcare market," LaDonna Johnston, Assistant Vice President of Patient Services said. "We understand the importance of accessible healthcare in smaller communities like Newport and the surrounding communities."

Jones provides women's health services at Unity Health – Harris Medical Center and Unity Women's Health – Pocahontas including prenatal and postpartum care, gynecological services, mammography services and outreach education. Jones a John 3:17 board member, which supports women in recovery from chemical addiction and is an educator to the community on women's health.

"I am extremely honored," Jones said. "For me, this award means I need to keep doing what I am doing. Sometimes I wonder if I have found my calling and I think the answer came in the form of this award."

The Arkansas Business Health Care Heroes awards program honors individuals, companies and organizations that are making a significant impact on the quality of healthcare in Arkansas.

Congratulations to all our winners and nominees!