Skip to main content


Back to news main

Students Seeking Healthcare Careers Receive Scholarships

Foundation news | Monday, April 8, 2019

Unity Health Foundation recently announced the 2016 Foundation Auxiliary Scholarship recipients at the annual Auxiliary Awards Luncheon held in the Hubach Conference Center at the Unity Health's White County Medical Center campus. Fifteen scholarships for $1,000 each were presented to the students during the ceremony.

In awarding the scholarships, the Unity Health – WCMC Auxiliary Scholarship Selection Team sought students who plan to enter one of the many healthcare-related fields of study. The 15 Foundation Auxiliary Scholarships were established as a memorial for a loved one, or in memory or in honor of individuals who made great contributions to medicine in White County. Funding for the scholarships is provided by the Unity Health – WCMC Health Auxiliary each year.

"We think it's important for the Auxiliary to give back," said Auxiliary President June Tripp. "The purpose is to provide money to those who want to pursue careers in healthcare. Our hope is that students see the need to return home to provide healthcare."

This year's recipients include the following:

Alexis Baker

Riverview High School

Mr. Michael Lynn Memorial Scholarship

Ashlynn Bunn

Harding Academy

Ms. Thelma Quattlebaum Memorial Scholarship

Reagan Feltrop

Searcy High School

Dr. Thomas Formby Memorial Scholarship

Anna Vest

Searcy High School

Dr. Porter Rodgers, Jr. Scholarship

Ashley Hernandez

Unity Health Associate

Mr. Roger Mills Memorial Scholarship

Kolton Howe

Searcy High School

Mr. Charles Yingling Memorial Scholarship

Donald "Trip" Smith

Beebe High School

Mr. Houston Butler Memorial Scholarship

Hannah Blanton

Bald Knob High School

Mr. Albert Pilkington, Jr. Memorial Scholarship

Sarah Grayson

Bald Knob High School

Ms. Kandace Muncy Memorial Scholarship

James Dillon Stone

Searcy High School

Ms. Debbie Cantrell Memorial Scholarship

Mellissa Keeton

Unity Health Associate

Dr. Martin Hawkins Memorial Scholarship

Tyra Ward

Bald Knob High School

Dr. A.R. Brown Memorial Scholarship

Kennedy Barden

Harding Academy

Mr. Floyd Holifield Memorial Scholarship

Christianna Camp

Bald Knob High School

Mrs. Barbara Brown Memorial Scholarship

Kayla Davis

Riverview High School

Ms. Juanita Morgan Memorial Scholarship

The Unity Health Foundation Scholarship program is open to White County high school seniors, as well as Unity Health - WCMC associates and children of associates, each spring. Applicants must be a resident of White County or a child of a Unity Health associate who works at Unity Health – WCMC, Unity Health – Specialty Care, the Unity Health Foundation or any of the Unity Health clinics located in White County.


The Unity Health Foundation is a charitable, not-for-profit corporation that serves to provide support for Unity Health. Donations to the Foundation provide Unity Health with funding for renovations, state-of-the-art equipment and special projects to enhance patient care. The Foundation extends the mission of Unity Health to create a healthy community through medical excellence and compassionate care.